Mischief Circus

Categories

Help & Settings
Forum Tips and Tutorials Storing PSD's on your computer?!

Storing PSD's on your computer?!

Enchanted
I was reading a tip the other day and it amazed me. I had to try it for myself and was amazed at the result.

I hate the fact that my psd's take about 85 mgs each usually. The tip was to put a blank, all white layer on top of your layout before you save. I don't get it, but it reduces my layouts by about 25mgs and the layouts are okay when I reload them. I love it.

Can anyone tell me more about why this works?

hth someone,     Barbara
0 | 0
eryn
no idea why it works as it still has to store that layer information!
I've read this before, but as I like to see the thumbnails of my psds, I've never tried it before.
0 | 0
eryn
i just had a play around too.

My original psd was 187
when I added a white layer on top it was 153
when i turned off (eye) all my layers it was 152
(I did that by putting all the layers into a group and just switching the group eye off)

AND THEN.... When I made a new folder, made a preview and put my smaller file into it, I can still see the thumbnails for my psds despite the smaller sizes! It will be a pain, but it actually doesn't take very long and could save a lot of space.

thanks barbara!
0 | 0
Kazadoodle
These days, I  save mine as TIFF instead of PSD, saves a ton of space and it works just as well.  I must try the white layer with the PSD files I have though
0 | 0
orachel
Hmmm...that is intriguing! Wonder if it would still work if you turned off the eye (visibility) of the white layer?
0 | 0
Enchanted
it seems like it should work even with the 'eye' turned off. isn't the layer still there if it is saved as part of the psd? I think that relates to Eryn's post above? I'm lost a bit today so if it doesn't make sense, just ignore! lol

b
0 | 0
orachel